Pixies .. forest??

Who knew that it would take over 10 hours to stitch up 144 strips of fabric??? LOL Before I started though I made another change to the location of a few fabrics. I’m sure that doesn’t shock anyone as I’ve not been able to settle on a final layout for colours. The instructions said to do values from dark to light – but now looking at what I’ve got I’m thinking I should have done colour family then values inside of families. Not that I’m saying I’m not happy – I think it’s looking great!! It’s just an aside observation is all.  I kept agonizing over the placement of the red and also of the blue print – I finally accepted that they would just be ‘wild cards’ and let the pieces fall where they may.

20150207_212419I got this far on Friday – I couldn’t believe that I had been sewing for almost 6 hours.  Now granted I moved the tv around upstairs and had to move a few boxes around to do it .. upstairs so I could actually ‘watch’ it while sewing,, and I had the kid dig into the basement to get me a floor lamp because it just seemed so dark at the cutting mat and the ironing board.  It’s amazing what a floor lamp with a fluorescent bulb in can do for a cave – It’s so much easier to see what I’m doing and I’m not quadruple check each bloody cut line that I’m about to do.  I love my fiskar’ ruler but on the mat and as old as it is, it’s not easily seen under ‘light’ so more artificial light is needed

20150208_004038

20150208_010554 I was really hoping that I would’ve gotten further. Reward came on Saturday with having all the strips done up and then joined into units Smile  I was getting really excited – almost like unburying a treasure with each piece that I stitched together.  Now comes the part of absolute and total commitment – the cutting.  I must have reread the instructions 10 times – I printed out the two charts but am ignoring the one with colour on it as I’m not following the colours chosen for the pattern.

20150208_02191020150208_042918Then I began cutting, putting strips up on the ‘design wall’  (I really need to head to the Dollar Store and grab 2 white fleece blankets for this – the red is ‘distracting’) I know know if it’s cause I’ve been watching Once Upon a Time, but I keep seeing feary and pixie dust in the lighter sections in the dark – I also see a forest – maybe on a mountain range .. The unveiling is really exciting to me – I’ve not named it yet, but if I keep seeing pixie dust I may applique faeries to this and go with a fantasy theme .. the idea is still percolating.  The one thing I’m really wishing I had is spray starch – I can see where I’m going to have to do some serious blocking on this with just a few strips sewn up.  Or I could starch it the old fashioned way  . Homemade spray starch  I honestly did NOT know that the commercial version has formaldehyde in it  Wonderful

20150208_043256

Here’s the bits and pieces that I’m not using from the strips.  These pieces as well as the strips that I got carried away during cutting – or any left over will be used in the border .. somehow – not sure yet – but the idea will come to me.  So far I’m thinking of a narrow darker strip to separate it out and then maybe baby bargellos through the border – of course a wider border.  Back up I go to get more done and see what shows – I just can’t picture this one in my mind even with the strips 1/3 put together.  Something always jumps up to me and even if it doesn’t sound right – it always works out and amazingly looks awesome LOL

What does everyone else see???

Leave a Reply

