Label eh?

Last night was going to start printing out the design on tissue paper to start quilting – then i remembered … LABEL .. I spent some time trying to find a shorter poem to ‘It’s OK to sit on your quilt … but didn’t . instead I opted for two quotes

A new baby is like the beginning of all things – wonder, hope, a dream of possibilities.

With a butterfly kiss, and a ladybug hug Sleep tight little one, like a bug in a rug.

20150123_174616The design aspect was easy enough – the issue was with printing on fabric and keeping it colour fast which my printer does not do .. I’ve the wrong type of ink in my cartridges. Before I would use Krylon clear matte and that would do it – I did mention that I had moved – but what I hadn’t mentioned it was a move from HELL. I’m still finding stuff .. everywhere .. I know I’ve two boxes of quilt stuff – my books (all my quilt books) and some of my gizmo’s and gadgets – such as all my pigma pens, quilter’s sprays etc etc etc ..  I tripped over a site that said you could use a vinegar bath for 10 mins and that would make it colour fast with letting it air dry … ummm ya NO!!!  It managed to turn my black ink to something fuzzy and purple .. don’t get me wrong, I LOVE purple . but not here.

What was worse i s that I spent until 5am trying to find he name of the spray I used before – course its sold out in various stores across the city. I did manage to find fabric sheets for the ink jet printers by June Tailor .. happydance!!!! At Michaels – stuff is pricey though, luckily for me, I had a 40% off coupon off one regular priced item 😀  $12.00 off seriously works for me!

20150123_193341Got home and pulled up my artwork – my printer did NOT like tat sheet at all .. I swear I did battle with it for over an hour before i totally decimated the first fabric sheet. Hella sigh But i did manage to print it out and with the label idea from QuiltPleasures

So at this point the label is done and just waiting – now I get to decide if I’m going to do all over continuous line design on the quilt or just do the design on the quilt top and then something different for the borders. But the end is in sight 😀 Good thing since Feb 1 is fast approaching!!

Leave a Reply

