Fabric Fondling

I‘ve not sewn a stitch, but I did fondle fabric today πŸ˜€ WHOOO HOOOO .. quilterhappydance!! I’ve been feeling the time slip away from me for the ArtIllusion Mystery .. I need to get my quilt top, backing and binding in – preferably 2 weeks ago, but it’ll be going in the next day or so at least πŸ™‚ Today I went shopping in the states with my dad and after the drudgery part was done, I headed over to Joann’s and walked into a sale – good thing as I didn’t have my coupons, nor even looked at them lately .. My sole purpose was to get fabric for the binding, dye, and backing fabric. Mission Accomplished!

HPIM2968.jpgYou should have seen me standing in front of the quilter’s fabrics at Joann’s – hehehehe .. I hadn’t had a chance to look at my quilt or even measure it lately – so I’m wracking my poor work-fried brain to try and remember what brights I had used in my quilt 😦 I could remember oranges and blues and purples and greens .. and I did even seen a few fabrics there that I KNOW are in my stash .. but do you think that I could remember what fabrics I had put in this quilt .. and of course I didn’t have a picture of it on my phone .. so I opted for orange .. and I knew I had a ton of different oranges in my quilt … of course I couldn’t decide so I grabbed 3 different ones πŸ™‚ and they were on sale .. so even better for me! I also grabbed some orange dye for the backing .. you can see part of the backing there – yes it’s a whole piece .. I bought 119″ wide and went from there – gotta love cheating! Oh and course I did all the math for how much I would need for binding and backing while standing in line LOL … That was the easy part!

HPIM2970.jpgNormally on Monday, I would have gone to Kyle’s ball game, but since there’s an issue with the car right now, and we only have 2 bikes and 3 people, I figured I would stay home and just play with my fabrics – washing the binding fabrics and then dyeing my backing .. I forgot how much fun that is πŸ˜€ I’m not 100% totally pleased with the way the backing turned out – but it’ll do. And it was a LOT of fun! I am sorry I missed his ball game, but I really did need this creative outlet – just to do some GRACE stuff!

I opted against the bright orange on the left of the previous picture. My choices were between the floral with orange in it and greens and reds and creams .. and the medium orange. It was a hard choice … and normally I wouldn’t have made up my mind until after it was quilted, but this one is being sent away to be quilted for the book, so I don’t have that luxury this time. I went back and forth and back and forth and just couldn’t decide to save my life.

HPIM2972.jpgThen I finally started to think (neat trick,eh?) I started to think, I knew I wanted a binding that pulled all the colours / elements together. So I started to look harder at the one floral one .. that seemed to fit more with the rest of the fabrics that I used for the background and it does have reds, oranges, greens and creams in .. so when I started to think like that, it wasn’t so hard a choice afterall! I really did want to frame this with a darker more subdued fabric.

On a more personal front, the end is near for this 2 – 11PM shift from Hell. I sooo canNOT wait! it’ll be nice to get a life back again! I’ve my shift bid here and am working on it – they’re due by the 23rd and I definitely plan to have it handed it! Just hope my score card stays good enough so that I can get a better shift that will allow me to have some modicum of a life … even if it is just a wee smidge of one πŸ™‚ Happy Happy Joy Joy

I’ve also caved and we are getting a whole new internet, phone and cable tv provider. The super slow speeds that I’ve been contending with lately have put me in no end of a panty twister – and with all I’ve gone thru with this provider, I wasn’t in the mood to put my big girl pants on anymore. And reg and his tv .. it’s as bad as me and my internet – nevermind that we are missing all the Tigers games, and football season is coming up .. last season was bad enough with not getting all the games we wanted to watch – plus with this new service, my phone will actually be cheaper .. It’ll be nice to have a speedy internet connection πŸ™‚ and the games we want to watch – Let’s just hope that it delivers what it says it will .. we’ll find out next Tuesday on our install date. I can just see us now .. Reg will be flicking thru the channels like an addict and trying to pry me away from my keyboard might be problematic ..

8 thoughts on “Fabric Fondling

  1. Well it sounds like you have been working the shift from hell! I do so sympathize with that–you have no life working those kind of hours. Great that you got to play with fabric for a bit today, now to find time to sew with some πŸ™‚ Hope you get the shift you are aiming for next time around. We miss you on OST and BEQ πŸ™‚
    Carmen

    Like

  2. sure glad to hear from you again….I’ve missed your neat comments on doing things and all your pictures….Hope you get the shift youw want so that you can quilt again.
    Bertiequilts

    Like

  3. I have missed you a lot. Sorry to hear you are working the shift from Hell. lol I missed your encouragement. I would read your emails and think could I do that. Love you girl! joanie

    Like

  4. Love the orange for the quilt! Nice and bright and happy. Sorry about the shift from HELL. I hurt my knee just as school was getting out and
    I’ve been home with my wonderful son for the last five weeks. Getting
    to do what I want (mostly quilting) every day and enjoying time with my son. Now I have to go back to work and really don’t want to. Work is HELL! Good luck on getting a better shift so you can get back to quilting and your groups. WE MISS YOU, GRACE!

    Like

  5. Great to hear from you and that you’ve been getting to fondle. πŸ™‚ I haven’t even done that much; I’ve been a slug. 😦

    Glad to hear that your shift is almost ended… what a nightmare. I haven’t worked hours like that in years! Back then at least I could go clubbing afterward. πŸ˜‰

    Hugs and love!

    Like

  6. I love the orange floral! Isn’t it therapeutic to fondle fabric? Bummer about the ballgame, but I’m sure he understood.

    Good luck on your new shift choice, it’s awfully quiet around here without you!!

    Like

  7. Nice to get some quilty time in — that backing is going to be bright and happy!

    Hope you get the change in shift that you want…funny how people are different, I always liked that 3-11 shift when I was working as an RN — those are still my most productive hours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

