ArtIllusion – Part 3

Last nite I had my fabric cut into strips and squares just waiting for me to get to it today 🙂 I decided to strip piece in order to make things easier and quicker for me .. worked out pretty good, but I kept reversing the block :\ .. but it all worked out in the end.

HPIM2787.jpgI ended up with these poor orphans left over from the top rows of strips starting from the top (lights and mediums) Rather pathetic little pile left over isn’t it? But it does tell me that I did a great job estimating how many strips I would need for Part 3 – and that makes me feel great .. I’m sure I’ll something useful for them .. not to sure what .. but I’m sure that something will come to me .. It usually does .. right as I’m about to fall asleep at nite .. then of course .. you pop right away .. You know .. so far this quilt hasn’t made to much of a dent into my scrap bag .. it sure doesn’t look any smaller .. and we aren’t going to talk about the pile that is breeding on the corner of my cutting table .. there’s likely another ½ bag there at least (!)

HPIM2792.jpg

Part 3

.. 26 … 27 … 28 … 29 … aw crap .. I’m 3 short – pfft. Ah well ..scrounge, hunt, scrounge for long enough bits of this and that to make make them up .. I wanted them to be somewhat close in colour so it wasn’t to scattered all over the map .. yes as Carmen says, I’ve redefined “controlled scrappy” one of these days I’ll do a true brown bag scrappy quilt .. promise! Well i finally found enough of 2 different colour schemes to get the final 3 blocks done and voila! Part 3 is fini!  Holly can you see them???

HPIM2793.jpg

I’m done in .. been a day of popping up and down like a jack in the box, as well as doing some grocery shopping, daddy drop /drive in, dinner, basketball on tv .. blah blah blah .. you get the picture .. so tomorrow, I start on Part 4 ..

Oh and my order showed up from joann’s .. I ended up with 2 yards of the material I ordered instead of 3 .. well that’s better than nothing I guess .. what a waste of a 40% off coupon tho pfft

2 thoughts on “ArtIllusion – Part 3

  1. Ah, Grace you are so funny. I am not laughing at you, but with you.
    I had some left over from my Road to Dixie Quilt so I have made 9 patches out them and will figure out what to do with them. I will post the 9 patches on my blog later today. So we both have the same problem.
    I just know you will come up with something interesting.

    Happy Quilting
    Gale/Oklahoma

    Like

  2. I envy how quickly you move through your projects and how well they look in the end (especially the previous mystery!) Hmm, I’m thinking, maybe the day you do a true brown bag scrappy is the day I try a scrappy (of any sort, can’t matter how I try it if I’m trying it for the first time, right?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

