That was Quick!

HPIM2770.jpgI am rather amazed at how fast this went, but I shouldn’t be really .. I knew it would go quick last nite! I did manage to get some daytime shots today, but with no sunshine, they aren’t that much better than last nite, but I’ll share the ones I did take :). It’s not much of an improvement over the flash shots – ah well ..

HPIM2774.jpgI’m just so tickled that the flower motif landed just so right on the tops of the blocks .. and it was really easy to line them up .. I didn’t do any repeats on the sheets that I printed and you can see by the motif that I used (a take on Hawaiian quilting, n’est pas?) heh .. seems almost a shame to take off the tissue doesn’t it?? I’m going to have some interesting nooks and crannies to take the paper out of .. good thing for tweezers ..

mumcrop2.jpgChange of topic here and one that is important to me. My mum’s bday was today (well yesterday at this point), March 31. She would have been 69 if she had lived. She fought a 25 year fight against breast cancer – and never let it rule her .. rather she ruled it .. this woman would have chemo and still go to work .. When I would ask her, why she just didn’t rest and take a day or two .. she would reply “Why Grace, so I can sit here and feel sorry for myself I would rather keep busy.” The woman’s strength amazed me .. Well as a tribute to her today, I managed to find two poems that seemed to express her to me and my family .. I found these at Memorial Verses and Poems. I was looking for scripture, but nothing I saw really seemed to click for me .. but these do, especially the first one – Legacy of Love

Legacy of Love

A wife, a mother, a grandma too,
This is the legacy we have from you.
You taught us love and how to fight,
You gave us strength, you gave us might.
A stronger person would be hard to find,
And in your heart, you were always kind.
You fought for us all in one way or another,
Not just as a wife not just as a mother.
For all of us you gave your best,
Now the time has come for you to rest.
So go in peace, you’ve earned your sleep,
Your love in our hearts, we’ll eternally keep

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You can only have one mother
Patient kind and true;
No other friend in all the world,
Will be the same to you.
When other friends forsake you,
To mother you will return,
For all her loving kindness,
She asks nothing in return.
As we look upon her picture,
Sweet memories we recall,
Of a face so full of sunshine,
And a smile for one and all.
Sweet Jesus, take this message,
To our dear mother up above;
Tell her how we miss her,
And give her all our love.

Thank you for letting me share my mum today .. it does mean a lot to me to share her with you .. or is it more for myself?? I’m not sure .. I only know that I was proud to have such a strong and resourceful woman to call Mother .. Happy Birthday Mum!

8 thoughts on “That was Quick!

  1. Can’t wait to see the reveal on this quilt Gracie! love the motif 🙂 A word about remembering your mum — God bless you and your family. She fought the good fight against an unseen enemy and endured more than she ever related. Such is a mother’s love for her children. And from me: “Happy Birthday Mum!” you have a wonderful daughter that is strong and graceful.”
    Carmen

    Like

  2. Many of us understand these ‘non-birthdays’ so very well, and appreciate the sharing, Grace. They remind me of my own mother, also a breast cancer survivor – for 34 years – and help me to know that the feelings of missing her and being proud of her and what she stood for are not unique to me. I believe that your mum is smiling over your quilt because she already knows what it will look like after you pick off all “that blasted tissue” – and she likes it as much as we will!
    Hugs
    Bobbie in Texas

    Like

  3. Grace, How beautiful your memorial of your mother is. I am sure you inherited some of her best qualities.

    You are fast in getting your quilts done. Keep it up.

    Gale/Oklahoma

    Like

  4. Pingback: Topics about Peace » Archive » Grace Quilts & Stitches: mumcrop2.jpg

  5. Too bad these are salty tears, or else I could just drop them onto the tissue paper and help peel it off. Truly, nobody ever loves us like our mother. Thinking about yours today, and admiring your beautiful quilt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

