From Basting to Quilting Pile

That’s always a good feeling – moving quilts from the waiting to baste to the waiting to quilt pile. Granted I ‘cheated’ and used spray baste, but they are basted!

HPIM2729.jpgI’ve spent ½ the nite and part of today searching for motifs for the square deal mystery quilt. It was rather tricky as this is a contemporary design, but not a new one – toss in geometric to the fun and you have some interesting ‘issues’ popping up .. I must have tried at least 8 different designs before I finally settled on one – now the only issue is whether to quilt the borders in the allover pattern, or SID them so they stand out. Decisions, decisions!! Now the thread was the easy part .. I’m going to use the thread I grabbed at fabricland for $1 a spool .. Gotta love THOSE sort of specials 🙂 This thread is variegated and has the most of the colours as the quilt does .. but it does have a pretty close match up to the background material The quilting motif will be similar to an orange peel motif but with more flair and another element added in between the ‘main’ motif

As I figured, my dad came over and wanted the quilt .. he was ready to take it down off the clips and take it with him! I said – I’m likely selling that one .. he goes – how much .. I tell him and he goes WHAT??? and offers me $10 – I just look at him, so he goes up to $25 .. I just turn my back and walk into my sewing room and start to grab bits and pieces of the material I used in the quilt .. hehehehehe .. I hand the fabric bits to him and say, here you go .. $25 worth of that quilt LMAO!!! The look on his face was priceless!!! That rather ended that – for now .. we’ll see what he has to say about it when it’s quilted. Then he goes .. make them bigger .. I’m like dad, people are choking over paying $60 for a pieced and quilted baby quilt .. they are NOT going to be $300 plus for a bed quilt .. he goes .. I would .. I just look at him then look at the mystery X – yeah right!

HPIM2736.jpg

The other one I got ready for quilting is my hopscotch quilt. This was the first mystery I did last summer. Ann Smith from Quilt Talk and Mystery Quilters (I think) wrote this one. From my thread order that came in yesterday I specifically got thread for this quilt. They all it Mediterranean and it is summery in look .. and this quilt reminds me of summer. The motif for this one was super easy .. butterflies with bees in the border .. I think .. not sure on the bee part, we’ll have to see ..

HPIM1994.jpg

Hopscotch

I used the batting I picked up at fabricland and it’s pretty thin .. good thing this will be a summer quilt .. I’ll see if I can double this for the big fan quilt (that would have been basted too, but ran out of backing **sigh) I had already opened this one up to ‘relax’ it and was worried about shifting – I’m not sure I can double it up like that .. Then again – telling me not that I can’t do that is the quickest way to get me to do it – or at least try it.

So, I’m off to print my motifs 😀 now which one to do first .. the mystery X will be the quickest me thinks. Specially since it’s just over a yard square 😀

2 thoughts on “From Basting to Quilting Pile

  1. I especially like the thread for the hopscotch quilt. It is going to be beautiful. My nickel quilt is only about 1/3 complete. I did finish an Easter top and started another. I started working on my blog again. Since you like snowmen, I think I will start pestering your for help. ggg
    Dian

    Like

  2. Grace, you are a busy lady. Your work is beautiful and those colors just make it all “pop”. I am finishing a jacket I made and hope to have a picture of it soon on my blog. My husband is not crazy about it, but I told him I do and did not make it for him. He is very conservative when it comes to clothes. Have a fun time quilting

    Gale/Oklahoma

    Like

Leave a Reply

