Franken’quilt’ Plodding Along

HPIM2629.jpgGood thing I’m not trying to break any land speed records with this quilt. I’m just plodding along, quilting a block, tearing the tissue, pining another into place, quilting, tearing the tissue .. etc, etc, etc .. I do like the way that it’s turning out tho .. very much! Kyle even thinks it’s cool, but then again, he could just be saying that ๐Ÿ˜‰ but i’ll give him the benefit of the doubt.

HPIM2626.jpgHPIM2628.jpgI’ve reached the ยฝ way point with the inner top quilting. I think this is a good place to stop for tonite. Its almost 2am and I’m tired .. I just want to do some neo and fall asleep. I thought I would show you how I’m using the tissue paper for the quilting motifs. First of all I trace it from my ‘original’. I was using a dab of glue stick, but i found that the tissue shifted to much – so I scrapped that idea and decided to try pins instead. I figure that using the pins will keep the sandwich together in the block as I remove all threads / pins before I quilt. This prevents the batting from shifting as I’m using a poly and it doesn’t tend to stick to cotton as well as cotton batting does. You can see the before and after pics – heh, my quilting’s a wee bit wobbly, but that’s okay .. but you can see how it didn’t tear and the pins are still in place minus 2 that caught on my gloves.

HPIM2633.jpgHere’s a close up of where 4 blocks meet – I’ve rather been wondering about the diamonds in this quilt. I think I’m going to SID around them to anchor the quilt together more and to ‘define’ them as well. They just seem to rather lay flat right now and they stood out before I started to quilt.

HPIM2631.jpgHere’s a close up of one block (yes the red is the center of the block) sorry these pics are so flat, but they are nite time pics and it really can’t be helped all that much – this rather looks like the red square is being circled by the quilting, even tho there are points in the blue sections surrounding the yellow diamonds.

I have to go with my dad in the am for a procedure he’s having, so I’ll be bringing my knitting for that – I’ve my sleeves ยฝ way done (seems to be a pattern here LOL), hopefully, I’ll be home in soon enough tomorrow that I can finish the inner top of this quilt and then start on the borders .. well at least trace out the borders. I need to hit the dollar store for more tissue paper too ๐Ÿ˜‰

That would be so cool to call this quilted and then start hunting for binding fabric for it ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Franken’quilt’ Plodding Along

  1. Gracie, I don’t know how to tell you the pleasure I get in reading your blog ๐Ÿ™‚ We quilt because we love working with fabric and putting the puzzle pieces together and perfection is not a first and foremost, but progress in technique is golden ๐Ÿ™‚ You have me convinced to try this tissue paper method in my next machine quilting venture, which will be soon, like this weekend LOL Just a small wall quilt, but going to start playing with the method on a small scale ๐Ÿ™‚ The colors in the Kyles quilt are bright, vivid and imaginative which are right up my alley! Brava on another project!
    Carmen

    Like

  2. Great progress. I might just have to try this method also. I was looking for a stencil yesterday and couldn’t find one I liked for a boys quilt. I guess I will have to make my own.

    Good luck with your dad.

    Like

  3. Okay, that does it. I’ll be sizing that motif to use on my next quilt. I really like the way that they come together and make that secondary pattern.

    The quilting looks great (especially on poly!) – you’ll have this cranked out in no time!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

