Topped Tiles; Matthew’s Window

I finally got back into the swing of things after finally being able to fall asleep at 3am yesterday after being up for over 36 hours .. oooohhhh I hate it when I do that!! I didn’t oversleep tho, only 9 hours which is good, because normally I would be out for at least 13 .. so that works .. granted it’s 2:27am and I’m still up, but when a muse bites me, I tend to listen .. I don’t even bother arguing with it .. I would have gotten up anyways to listen to it and to finish fussing – ah well ..

hpim2188Erica’s top is done .. no borders yet, but done .. putting the rows together went very very fast! Could be because this is a lap quit – not sofa size, just Erica size 🙂 .. I almost drove myself to distraction with which colour to start with, then I got a grip and just closed my eyes and toss / spun ..

I’m still working on the border, after the reaction to my ‘filler’ border for the tutorial, I rethought it – well the border is interesting to say the least and Carmen is helping .. but alas .. poor Carmen has a dead furnace and is dealing with that .. I do have a few extra options that I’ll put into play if need be .. but regardless – the dark purple that I picked up last weekend at Joann’s will be the darker part of the border .. and I’ve not dyed the rest of the border / backing yet, so no rush on this part.

hpim2197With Erica’s borders curing (so to speak), I moved on to Matthew’s .. I had quite the stack of fabrics pulled for this and I wanted to use them all too! But that just wasn’t going to be feasible! So with working with Photoshop, my digital camera I spent a few hours working things out. These are the hpim2190final choices of what’s made it .. yes there are a few extra greens in there .. well come to find out, I’ve a FQ of that green and while it was ‘interesting’ when I picked it up, I wasn’t in love with it .. but it is PERFECT for this quilt .. but do I have enough .. NOPE .. ½” shy if you can believe that .. Pfft but the butterflies for the windows is just the right touch ..

mattswindow1I redrafted the pattern in quiltpro (no paperpiecing me thinks) and reduce the size of the block .. It’ll work, but is that what I really want to do .. this quilt is only going to be roughly 37 ½ x 42″ .. a good sized wallhanging .. but I really don’t want to go smaller .. Then as I was standing there tossing my options around in my brain, I saw my green batiks from a few weeks ago .. (oh and yes, that orange was supposed to be for me too :'() Now I have 2 FQs of the lighter one and ½ yard of the darker one with orange. So I do have options to keep this block at 6″ finished. I think that the red, green, orange, yellow and black are going to look just striking together .. I still have to dye the yellow and that will be tomorrow’s project 🙂 Tomorrow all the fabrics for this quilt will be ready and I really hope to be cutting on it tomorrow ..

oh jiminycricket .. i think reg wants to head stateside again .. &^$%&&*^&*( pray he forgets .. those shopping days really toss me off my track and whack me out to no stinking end!

On a side note: I’ve pulled my yarns for my earwarmers – babyweight on 4mm needles .. the instructions say 3.5mm circular or DPN .. I have a mess of 3.25mm and 3.75mm DPN, but only 4mm in the circular … even with going thru my mum’s needles .. no 3.5 .. it’s a conspiracy I tell you!! I think the circular’s would be MUCH easier for me to work with as I’ve not used DPN in like 10 years (!) .. maybe just make my tension really tight?? I’ll have to see .. If I had my druther’s I would likely work on the 3.25mm needles – my tension’s usually spot on, but my head is smaller – I wear kids hats – and she doesn’t list a finished size for this one. Crap shoot anyone?? heh ..

Have fun everyone and Good Night 🙂

3 thoughts on “Topped Tiles; Matthew’s Window

  1. Oh, where to start? First off, Erica’s quilt is truly turning out to be wonderful – do you see the woven effect?

    About needles, dare I say it – SWATCH. If your head is 21″ around and the pattern says cast on 120 sts, then you’ll need a gauge of approx. 5.8 spi (to make a 20.5″ band). Getting the “required” needles, whether circular or not, is not going to ensure your success. Swatch first and you can CONTROL your own damn project.

    Oh, and Joann’s has needles, you know. If you have access to a Michael’s, use your print (not email) Joann’s coupon there to get what you need.

    Yes, you will get .5 credits for attending this lecture…. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

