Shaving Cream n Paint

hpim2116

My Palette

A nother fun thing I did to take a break from quilting was to play with my textile paints and shaving cream 🙂 Now this was fun and as usual I learned a lot .. but I really do love the effect that I got – I didn’t have a hair pick or a small rake, so I used chopsticks .. I will be getting a small rake (kids beach playset at dollar store maybe) and a hair pick. Or whatever else perks my fancy that can used as a small rake .. they do that those little house sets for house plants that have the small rakes .. BUT .. the tines are further apart than I would like .. I’ll look around .. I might just be amazed at what I find

I did 4 10″ charms again and I didn’t dilute the paint down (for easier flow) like I did in my paint resist fun. So I’m expecting to keep these bright bold colours when it finally dries. I used the puppy training pads again, when all was said and done, I just rolled it up very carefully and into the garbage it went ..

All images can be clicked for a larger view

First charm – turquoise, violet and periwinkle

hpim21171

With shaving cream

After rinsed / pressed

After rinsed / pressed

Second Charm – no added colours or paint, did a circle swirl thru shaving cream – you can see how much paint was actually picked up on the first pass – so paint needs to be added to each one you do.

with shaving cream

with shaving cream

after rinsed / pressed

after rinsed / pressed

Third Charm – Added emerald Gold Luminere to this one, re-raked shaving cream. I noticed that the shaving cream was dying (for lack of a better word) losing it’s poof and air – so I might want to consider doing these quicker and adding shaving cream as I go, but haven’t figured out how to do that without having really odd looking spots .. So maybe just plan a few with a thinner base for the shaving cream and make a new one as needed? If you look at the bottom left corner on the left thumbnail, you’ll see a good example of the shaving cream breaking down .. but it still did do the job – so maybe, it just holds the paint higher??

with shaving cream

with shaving cream

hpim2129

After rinsed / pressed

Fourth Charm – Last one – I added violet gold luminere to this one and remixed the marbling – again the deterioration of the shaving cream, but other than having a darker ‘spot’, it didn’t seem to affect the result.

With shaving cream

With shaving cream

After rinse / press

After rinse / press

I had a lot of fun doing this, it appears that the deterioration of the shaving cream doesn’t affect the marbling other than to have a ‘heavier’ paint spot, but when it’s all cut up, would you really notice it.

I do need to put MORE paint closer and use something with smaller teeth for my marbling – I will definitely be doing this again ..

5 thoughts on “Shaving Cream n Paint

  1. Gracie
    My favorite is the second where you added no shaving cream or paint but I’m always looking for something besides WHITE to use for a pale background and that is REALLY neat!

    Seems like way “back in the day” there was something recommended in faux finishing (painting) about taking a piece of plastic – like an old credit card – and cutting the edge like pinking shears. I never tried it – but if you have an old gift card laying around, it’s worth a try! And to make sure I understand what you did – you put the shaving cream, and paints on the puppy training pad, “combed” to get the marbling effect, then laid your charm square on top of that, then swirled it as you were picking it up? I’m having one of those days where I need a Big Chief tablet and fat crayon!
    Bobbie in Texas

    That’s not a bad idea, but not sure if pinking sheers will do deep enough – it hasn’t been said that you have to go all the way to the matt, but that is my assumption .. I will try it tho and see how it works ..

    I wanted BRIGHT and BOLD after my resist painting lightened up so much, but I imagine that you can do whatever intensity you wish ..

    How I did this.
    1. laid my matt (puppy pad) down
    2. squirted shaving cream on the matt
    3. flattened / levelled it out with a ruler
    4. added paint
    5. swirled, swiped, etc my shaving cream with chopsticks
    6. gently placed the charm on the shaving cream and pressed down
    7. left it there for about 3 – 5 mins – not sure, I didn’t really keep track of it .. Waited mostly until I saw the paint come thru the back
    8. gently peeled it off and laid it aside.
    9. when the shaving cream dried, I rinsed in warmish-hot water, let air-dry
    10. pressed / heat set with my iron ..

    LOL @ your big chief pad and crayon **giggles … hugs

    Like

  2. Very neat! I bet my kids would really like to help with this – they are 3 and 4! I love reading your blog. Keep up the good work!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

