Sharing & Plotting FQs

What a great day .. and a LONG day .. but when we head over to the states, it usually is .. We didn’t do our usual shop fest as Kyle was with us and you can imagine a 13yo boy and shopping .. altho he did have fun, and got a few basketball jerseys as seriously ROCK BOTTOM prices .. regular price between $85 – $100 – and these were 85% off .. yup .. a football jersey for $15 .. like we could say no (!??) .. not to bloody likely .. got Reg’s wardrobe for his coaching during games – still need to find black dress pants in his size, and we are already starting on Kyle’s Cmas gifts 😉 Sure beats doing it at the last second .. granted we “might” pay more, but we are tripping over some pretty sweet deals!

I left the 2 of them at the mall (Game Works) and headed over to Joann’s .. I didn’t pay full price for a bloody thing .. not ONE .. how cool is THAT?? I was primarily hunting for asian fabrics, a brayer (forgot that again – GRRRR), angelina fibres (couldn’t find them), foils (couldn’t find them either), a book or pattern on bargello quilts – now I found a book, but all the quilts in it just did NOT appeal to me .. they were blech! And no pattern .. oh and adding to my paints .. the luminere this time was on my agenda!

I grabbed another set of paint, 2 more dyes and another stamp. Everything but the paint was on sale, but I was armed with several (yes several) 40% off coupons .. It would have been great to get the angelina fibres and foil too .. I’m all set now to play with fabric painting, dischariging with bleach and gel – I just need to get some of these ‘projects’ done and out the door so I can play without them hovering over my head.

The regular FQs weren’t on sale this week, but they had novelty FQs for 99¢ – so I grabbed 3 of them .. pretty and colourful butterflies, asian writing on red (does anyone know what it says? Can you help me out please?) and a black & white zebra type print .. I’m starting to concentrate on my Black and White fabrics now .. I think that a B&W quilt is just so stunning and dramatic .. imagine that accented in red .. nummy!!

They had the cottons for $1.00 off a yard, so I got ½ yard cuts of this black and white and another green batik .. this one has seam neat orange-y browns in it too .. and it rather gave me an idea .. yes I was thinking again. I had remembered the oranges I had picked up a few weeks ago .. and started to look at the orange in this fabric .. and it has some ‘browns’ too .. I just grabbed those last week think .. I wondered how they would all look together and thought to myself .. I bet they look GREAT .. and they weren’t even bought at the same time either ..

Remember that over the past several weeks, I’ve picked up oranges, browns and another green batik .. well I got to thinking that they would all work very well together .. Reg thinks this green is ugly .. well is an odd combination of sorts .. but put alongside the oranges, browns and the other green batik, it’s just stunning .. they actually all go together (!) I have ½ yard of the lighter green batik, ½ yard of the green orangey one, and the rest are FQs .. not sure what project I’m going to do with them, but i’m sure that something will hit me .. Carmen’s been working her fingers off desiging for OST, so there are a TON of choices there if I have a brain fart ..

We were able to keep the Pistons game a secret from Kyle .. they have some of the ramps closed to I-75, and we used the excuse of having to go the back road to get to the freeway .. The Palace of Auburn Hills, is the exit before Great Lakes Crossing, and there is a back road to get there from the mall area .. heh .. so we actually managed to get there without seriously arousing any suspicion .. Reg was toying with Kyle a bit and he started raise his eyebrows, but when we went past 3 of the entrances, he didn’t think about it .. we did a HARD right turn into the parking lot, Kyle looks up from his book, gets this goofy grin on his face and goes “Awesome!!” LOL .. well worth it .. oh the Pistons won 117 – 109 and I got some GREAT seats too! We all had a GREAT day 😀 And kyle only managed to drive me a smidge crazy LOL

Before we headed out to the mall, we stopped at Barnes & Noble and I got quiltmaker magazine and another book – this one by Iris Johansen .. I really do like her writing style.

Stalemate (Description)
Eve Duncan has turned down the job twice already. Her skill and devotion in identifying murder victims and helping bring their killers to justice may be world-renowned. But Eve works exclusively for law enforcement and the families of the innocent, and the man on the other end of the phone is many things—none of them law-abiding or innocent.

One of the world’s most wanted men, little is really known about Luis Montalvo except that he is extraordinarily dangerous and that he never takes no for an answer. Now he wants Eve’s help in the worst way. For he believes they have something in common—and he’s about to prove it with a grisly warning.

Eve will leave everything and everyone behind, even the man she trusts and loves the most, Atlanta detective Joe Quinn, to travel to Montalvo’s luxurious armed compound in the Colombian jungle to identify the skull he has recovered. She has agreed to this devil’s bargain to save an innocent family, but also for a reason she can’t admit to Joe, to the CIA, to anyone. For the man in the jungle has promised to be able to give Eve what she wants most of all—the key to unlocking the darkest and most painful mystery of her past.

But Eve is in more danger than she can imagine. As she gets closer to identifying the skull, she finds herself caught between two ruthless killers with no way out. Now, with everything on the line, Eve Duncan must make the most chilling choice of all. And if she’s wrong…she’s dead.

About the Author
Iris Johansen is the New York Times bestselling author of Killer Dreams, On the Run, Countdown, Firestorm, Fatal Tide, Dead Aim, No One to Trust and more. She lives near Atlanta, Georgia.

I get to get an extra hours sleep and tomorrow is football .. life is good 🙂

One thought on “Sharing & Plotting FQs

  1. I have one of Johansen’s books here to read – I just don’t remember which one offhand. I like most of her stuff – a little mystery, a little romance…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

