Quilt Hug for a Friend

She got it today so now I can share it with you ๐Ÿ™‚

A dear friend of mine was going thru some personal issues that were distressing her very much. I had an almost overpowering urge to send her a prayer of healing. And of course, being a quilter, you send quilt hugs – so I got busy

First of all I had to find just the right scripture. I’m not exactly a scripture hound, I don’t have one very every occassion plus an extra for backup .. so this had to be just right and say what I wanted to say. Something to give her strength, feel love from God, me and her other friends. Well I did find one that I thought fit the bill just perfectly!!

Thank you, Father that as I pay attention Your Word, listening closely to what You say to me, and not letting it out my sight, but keeping it within my heart, it is life and health to my whole body.

(Proverbs 4:22)

Then of course it had to be in her colours .. I went looking in our database and of course .. jewel tones .. good Lord but that is NOT a colour!!! pfft .. Okay BRIGHT and CHEERY .. that’ll work ๐Ÿ˜‰

So I gather up some nice cheery bright colours and then my mind goes wild .. ribbon, framing with other fabric, quilting Christ, heart, hands … the mind just spins

Well I got it all worked out and was pretty proud of myself .. I even did some cute little hangers with ribbon – now I had a really cute idea for the edging .. i would just trim the batting as close as I could to the stitching then using my pinking rotary cutter and pink the edge .. i thought that was be sooo cute .. heh .. the sullivans turn the batting, the top and backing into a super glued week old peanut butter sandwich .. **sigh. Well maybe I could get mum’s machine to work even without a walking foot for just the bit I need to do. ROFLMAPIMP!!!!!! ah no – Needless to say, with my machine that does zig zag out, that really tore this idea to shreds .. so in desperation I try to do the edging with my serger .. HAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAH (<- insert maniacal laughter) .. ah .. no .. didn’t work .. it wasn’t even givable after that attempt!! This was the day that not only did the serger develop it’s own version of a hairball, but I broke the blasted needle .. oh bloody hell!

So I start again .. got better ideas this time, more refined layout, no stupid decorative stitches .. play with the text in illustrator and photoshop and I really like how it came out ๐Ÿ™‚ This time instead of quilting Christ onto the quiltlet, I would frame him – quilted him in with green thread, but on white fabric and then framed him in green, used a different heart, no hands, buttons, and a cleaner layout – no ribbon this time, but strips of the fabric that the verse was printed on ..

I like this design so much better – it’s cleaner and just plain nicer and neater ..

I couldn’t post this when i did it as I had to wait for her to say she got it. she doesn’t always read my blog, but with me and my luck .. yeah right .. she would read it ๐Ÿ˜‰

8 thoughts on “Quilt Hug for a Friend

  1. I loved it the first time I saw it Gracie! Great imagination and so full of warmth, love and concern! Keep careing and loving us just the way you do!
    Carmen

    Like

  2. Grace;
    You inspire me so very much!!!!!!!!! I am still crocheting, I am working on what my dh calles my Hurricane quilt/gan he says it is going to be georgous, I can’t wait to finish it. I am also going to whip up a prayer shawl for myself, mother and sister for Chrsitmas presents (for mom and sis). Then I need to get started dwelling on ideas of using scrap fabric to get started on another baby quilt/gan for my newest cousin due in March.

    Like

Leave a Reply

