Orion’s Jewelled Eye

W ho would have thought that thread trash could make such an interesting effect?? I rather like it .. heh .. just means that I will have to buy more fabric and wash it to get more thread trash if this muse keeps hitting me .. you do tend to use a bit of it .. altho – not as much as if you used regular thread to thread paint ..

I call this Orion’s Jewelled Eye ..

I remembered this piece that I double-dyed years ago .. it’s blue and red purple .. for some reason, no matter how many pics I took and from what angles with what flash it washed the red purple out .. which is a shame, because this fabric really reminds me of some of the pics that the Hubble telescope took.

This month’s concept – Moon And Stars

The moon is a button that is transparent and opaque in bands radiating out from the center so that’s a perfect moon. Various bits of thread trash are the stars zooming about; the bottom left are bands from the milky way – and the middle is a spinning star. heh . not exactly your traditional quilt block, but it’s abstract so I can get away with it .. I used bits of fru fru for coloured shiny bits. I quilted in lots of motion with the stars having comet-like tails.

I showed it to reg and he goes .. What is it? Then asked me if I was trading him coasters .. smart alec!! Well if he doesn’t know what it is, then, I guess I did the abstract part right ;). Like I said earlier .. he tells me either way . so I’m going to guess that he doesn’t like it .. maybe not that strong, but it certainly doesn’t appeal to him

I find this one – interesting. If i come up with another idea, I’ll be sure to try it .. Getting your head around a concept isn’t as easy as a body thinks .. specially if it’s supposed to be abstract ..

Abstract
13 dictionary results for: abstract
Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1) – Cite This Source – Share This
ab·stract /adj. æb?strækt, ?æbstrækt; n. ?æbstrækt; v. æb?strækt for 10–13, ?æbstrækt for 14/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[adj. ab-strakt, ab-strakt; n. ab-strakt; v. ab-strakt for 10–13, ab-strakt for 14] Pronunciation Key – Show IPA Pronunciation
–adjective
1. thought of apart from concrete realities, specific objects, or actual instances: an abstract idea.
2. expressing a quality or characteristic apart from any specific object or instance, as justice, poverty, and speed.
3. theoretical; not applied or practical: abstract science.
4. difficult to understand; abstruse: abstract speculations.
5. Fine Arts.
a. of or pertaining to the formal aspect of art, emphasizing lines, colors, generalized or geometrical forms, etc., esp. with reference to their relationship to one another.
b. (often initial capital letter) pertaining to the nonrepresentational art styles of the 20th century.
–noun
6. a summary of a text, scientific article, document, speech, etc.; epitome.
7. something that concentrates in itself the essential qualities of anything more extensive or more general, or of several things; essence.
8. an idea or term considered apart from some material basis or object.
9. an abstract work of art.

Well i have the definition down .. now to wrap my head around it more 😉

5 thoughts on “Orion’s Jewelled Eye

  1. Nice piece. I collected thread for a gal who was making some kind of vest. I just put a plastic cup on my sewing table beside the machine and dropped the thread pieces into it when I was cutting them off. After a while, I had quite a collection for her. Try that. I bet you will have a collection, too.

    Like I said, your piece is really nice. I like it and I am not really into abstract art or abstracr quilting.

    Keep up the pretty work.

    Hugs, Anne in AZ

    Like

  2. I knew as soon as I saw the name for this piece that it was outer space. I think you have really done an exceptional abstract of space. I am with you that it’s a shame the pic can’t show the red purple coming through, I’m sure it is truly awesome in person. Keep up the great adventures in quilting.
    Warm quilty hugs,
    Brenda M in Indiana

    Like

  3. Very creative Grace and a great use of trash or so we used to think it is trash…now it is embellishments! LOL
    I took a class from Bonnie MaCafferty (sp) and we did a similar thing under some fine tulle and expensive trash that we bought beforehand and it wasn’t any better than what you have created with out the expensive “trash”
    I never finished mine as I am not into art quilt stuff but it is very pretty all stitched down

    Like

  4. I asked Keith how he liked the Wonky tree quilt – he didn’t. Said they looked like cartoon trees. Oh well, I’m used to working on things he doesn’t like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

